My new secret addiction

Home pregnancy tests. There isn’t enough pee and there aren’t enough little sticks in the world for me right now.

I peed again last night. The line was there again, looking a little sturdier. Eek!

We went to buy another today. Had to switch to another pharmacy as the last lady already thinks we’re crazy. Clearly she hasn’t dealt with many infertiles. ‘Wasn’t one test enough? Didn’t it work?’ Yes, kind of, but I’m having too much fun to stop.

We had to switch brands to ‘The Orange Test’ at the new pharmacy. Upon closer inspection though I’m pretty certain it has sprung from the same loins as ‘Dr Chek’. The packaging, instructions and info leaflet are identical apart from the name. I was worried it might upset my result if I was disloyal to my original brand. I think this is only the tip of the crazy iceberg.

Next week I was supposed to be taking some 40 kids on a trip to an outdoor snake farm but my boss excused me, agreeing it might be a bit much to be stomping about outside in the 40 degree heat all day. Phew. It was slightly difficult to explain it to my colleagues who are in the dark as to the real reason for my absence. Me being a crappy liar, mumbling indistinctly about medical reasons plus a limited grasp of English led the trip leader to think I am excused because of snake allergy. A snake allergy?? Is that even a thing? She probably thinks I’m just skiving. Oh, well hopefully I’ll be able to explain it all in a few months.

I’ll be glad to have a few quiet weeks. I’m feeling pretty tired these days. I get pretty knackered walking up and down the stairs. As for other symptoms, the last few days have been like there is a party in my uterus. The cramps have been pretty breath taking, coming, quickly and retreating in the same manner, I have been feeling pretty damn hungry all day but then quickly feel full during my evening meal…and then hungry again at bed time. My back is starting to protest also. So, overall lots of different PMS symptoms. Not complaining now that I can keep looking over at my little pee sticks though. Two more sleeps til beta. 

There’s political unrest again here. Very possible that several thousand people will be whistle blowing (literally) and marching very near our clinic in the city on Saturday. I hope we don’t get caught up in it.

Hope grabbed me, pulled me onto the back of a unicorn and skipped the fuck over the rainbow, If things go wrong now it’s not going to be pretty.

Pee stick pics after the jump.

Warm, fuzziness to all.

TTFN x

DSC_3008I’m not sure I got the abbreviations right but it’s supposed to say 10/11 days after a 3 day old frozen embryo transfer. I busted out the big camera. The Orange Test photos will be coming tomorrow.

13 thoughts on “My new secret addiction

  1. Congratulations! I had period-esque cramps for about 3 days after my positive test. I was really freaked out and expecting blood, but a week later so far so good. Hope those beta numbers look good!

  2. Congrats! 🙂 I told you it’d get darker. I’ve totally seen on other blogs people taking various tests over the course of a surprising number of days (normally it shows a spread of “barely visible” to “as dark as the control line”).

Leave a Reply

